First Steps

It’s a simple act.  Step outside.  Do something different.  But it always seems so hard to make the first step.  First steps in anything are, classically, the hardest ones to take.

Life is about making first steps.  Every first step you take is a new experience you’ve put under your belt.  That first time you tried turnips.  The first time you went ice skating.  The first time you wore neon green.  You don’t think about it, but you get up every day when you probably don’t want to.  You make a choice what to eat, what to get dressed in…and if you always did the same thing you’d never take any first steps.  But then would you be experiencing everything life has to offer?

I think as teachers and parents we think we’re done with our “living” and focus on teaching the young ones about it.  But the best teachers are the experienced ones.  The best instructional tool is being a great example.

I want my kids to be lovers of life.  I want them to be first step takers.  I want them to experience everything, the good and the bad.  And that means I have to show them what a first step taker looks like, acts like…what he does everyday in everything.

I think I’ll take that first step, and choose to go outside now.  Maybe I’ll go bird watching.  I’ve always thought about doing that.

http://www.livingthecrazykidslife.blogspot.com

Tags: , , , , ,

About misteredie1

I am a husband, father, teacher and principal who loves to help students learn and reach their highest potential. I believe teaching is the ground floor to a better world - the children ARE the future!

Leave a Reply

