We are creating memories as well as mental abilities

I remember very little from my elementary education years, if you figure that there were about 1000 days in K-5, and I probably remember maybe 200 individual days or events.  I do have some knowledge of the things I learned (I remember the ABC’s, how to count, and that the united states has 50 of them – so don’t get discouraged teachers.  It IS sinking in.)

But the day to day stuff is pretty much lost to me, except for some very specific memories –

– asking a girl to be my girlfriend (she declined)

– Any time I was made fun of or embarrased

– Meeting friends for the first time

– The talent show in 5th grade

– Mrs. Phillips singing “Peanut Butter and Jelly”

– and on and on (that’s maybe another blog post – “elementary memories”

The point is, memories are made each day in our classrooms, and we don’t even know it.  We usually don’t even know it when they happen (like the girl I heard talking to a boy yesterday, asking “if you could go out with anyone in the class, who would it be?” with a hopeful tone to her voice (he was WAY too young to know how to respond to that).

Next time someone asks you what it is you do, if you’re a parent or teacher or mentor or friend, tell them you’re a MEMORY MAKER.

Now, excuse me.  I have a few memories to make myself.

check out http://tinyurl.com/edieninos1 for more exciting adventures, and follow @MisterEdie on the twitter

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About misteredie1

I am a husband, father, teacher and principal who loves to help students learn and reach their highest potential. I believe teaching is the ground floor to a better world - the children ARE the future!

Leave a Reply

