Sports Authority The short kid is almost

Sports Authority
The short kid is almost always picked last for basketball. And really, I don’t blame them. If I can get it to the hoop at all, it’s a miracle. I fared a little better in High School, but I was never the superstar jock (I did date a cheerleader though – later to become my wife… šŸ™‚
But I always went out for sports, even if I wasn’t making all the touchdowns or hitting home runs. Mostly because it was important to be a part of something. Maybe I didn’t realize it at the time, but I was learning to stick with something, to tough it out if it was hard, and to suck it up if I didn’t like what the coaches said. Really, I was learning to be a hard worker. In a lot of ways, organized sports closer mimics the work environment more than the classroom. Teachers are like parents. Coaches are more like bosses.
So it’s good to get the kids out there in something, even if they aren’t the next Ichiro. I, for one, am not really a fan of interrupting my day, after working 10 hrs., to go see a little league game. But, it’s important for the kids. So… as one of my coaches might’ve said – “Suck it up! Get out there, Edie!” You got it, coach.
http://ow.ly/i/eyD5

Tags: , ,

About misteredie1

I am a husband, father, teacher and principal who loves to help students learn and reach their highest potential. I believe teaching is the ground floor to a better world - the children ARE the future!

Leave a Reply

