Veterans Day Ideas

Veterans day has come and gone, and I think it was one of the most memorable veterans day’s ever!

Why, you ask?  (I like to pretend I’m talking to you and you’re responding, but the truth is there’s only about 3 of you out there, and you’re not talking back)

Well, I’ll tell you!  This year’s Veterans day was memorable because I remembered it.  That sounds obvious, but the fact is when I was a child, I don’t really remember Veterans day.  Veterans day fell into the same category of Memorial day and Labor Day – one of those holidays where you get to take off school but have no discernable duties to perform.  Free day!  I didn’t even know it was every November 11th until I was in my mid-twenties.  I always thought it was one of those “always on a Monday” type holidays.

The memorable holidays are the ones that you have something you do each year.  Traditions are what make the memories.  Look at Halloween – it’s not even a national holiday, there’s really no reason to celebrate it, but I certainly remember each Halloween since I was 3.  Look at that picture up there.  Those kids are having the time of their lives!

We need something like that for Veterans day.  As a teacher, we need to make sure kids know WHY we have veterans day, and taught a healthy respect for our armed forces.  It’s a huge part of our nation.  For myself, I did a video that talked about WWI and WWII, and then we did an american flag craft, and talked about our family members who served.  Probably not near enough, but certainly more than I’ve talked about Veterans day in a long time.

But the best, memorable parts of holidays come from home, not school (see Christmas, Thanksgiving, etc…) So, here’s my suggestion (combining the best parts of Halloween and Christmas):

Every year, all the kids will dress up in camo face paint and red white and blue colors, and go around the neighborhood giving cookies to all the veterans.  We’d have to think up a way for the veterans to identify their houses, but I think it could work.  Some of the crankier guys might not want to put out the lights to identify themselves (but come on, who doesn’t like cookies?), but maybe we could print up a map of people’s homes to go to?  That might work out badly too.  We’ll think about it.  It’s a start.  Greater minds will figure out the rest.

Okay.  Now it’s up to you.  Let’s get this going!

Tags:

About misteredie1

I am a husband, father, teacher and principal who loves to help students learn and reach their highest potential. I believe teaching is the ground floor to a better world - the children ARE the future!

One response to “Veterans Day Ideas”

  1. joyce says :

    You know I am impressed. I’m sitting here again reading the poem In Flanders Fields. This youngest generation really does need to understand why they have such a great, free life. In that way they will know how to keep it free. Thanks for helping make a difference.

Leave a Reply

