The loss of our values

What is important?  I can’t tell you what is important, but I know what is important to me.  I’m not going to sit and act like what I think is important is the RIGHT way, but I think more and more, what we VALUE is twisted.  Like we don’t even really know WHAT it is we value.

Is money or family the most valuable?  Seems like a no brainer, but more and more I come across families and kids who seem to think that clothes and style and toys are the way to happiness.  These are valued above simple time spent together.  And kids who think that being popular and important is more important than friends and their hurt feelings.

Some of this is normal for kids, but more and more I get opposition from parents – whom I can’t presume to tell what they should value – when I try to curb those negative values in their children.  That’s why I don’t think we know what we value.  Because we are angry when someone is rude or hurtful to our kids, but think it’s perfectly okay to be rude to the teacher or other students.  Which is it?  Rudeness is good or bad?  Let’s make a choice and stick with it!

In the end, I need to focus on MY values.  I value education.  I think it is important.  And hopefully that value will show through to others at the same time.

See the new blog post at www.livingthecrazykidslife.blogspot.com for more on eroding values.

About misteredie1

I am a husband, father, teacher and principal who loves to help students learn and reach their highest potential. I believe teaching is the ground floor to a better world - the children ARE the future!

One response to “The loss of our values”

  1. Helene Neuberg Thomsen says :

    What a good toppic to raise. I am as frustradet as you. You schouldt read Thomas Ziehe (he is german), he writes interesting thieses on detraditionalisation of society, and why it’s hard to influence students with good values.

Leave a Reply

